Producertech Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Music Courses & Training > Ableton Live Forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Unable to preview sound files in live

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Tea Boy
Tea Boy

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Heymate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Unable to preview sound files in live
    Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 5:33pm
Bit of a newbie here. I can hear the sound when I drag the file to the midi track but I cannot get anything to appear in the preview tab. No waveforms, no sound. The headphone is blue. Just baffled, Thanks for helping. btw I ran the repair library thing as well..Hoping for help
morganlefaye View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote morganlefaye Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 5:56pm
hi buddy

there are no wave forms on instruments......you cannot preview the sound of an instrument until live9

in the clip view you will see piano notes and a time line to insert midi notes.....

vital point is make sure the track is record armed

see how far you get with this and let us know of any change
Heymate View Drop Down
Tea Boy
Tea Boy

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Heymate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 6:30pm
Thank you so much...I am just learning so I appreciate the help. I made my first record in 1969 on CBS!and Big smile I have just retired a Fostex System and am determined to master Ableton!  I will try what you suggested and again, I am very grateful for the help :)
Heymate View Drop Down
Tea Boy
Tea Boy

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Heymate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2012 at 6:45pm
One comment morgan, this part in the manual threw me off
Previewing Files