Producertech Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Music Courses & Training > Ableton Live Forum > Live-Courses.com Support
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

trouble duplicating clips.

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
ProducerTech Student
ProducerTech Student

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote p mac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: trouble duplicating clips.
    Posted: 17 Jun 2010 at 12:28pm
hi first off i am a complete ableton newbie and am only using the intro version at the moment.i am going all right so far with the beginners course but have hit a wall when trying to duplicate a clip using the alt key.every time i try it just moves the clip from one place to another.not sure if i am missing something,i click on the clip then hold the alt key and click and drag but does not work.i am on a sony vaio useing windows 7.any help would be great.cheers paul
RobJones View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RobJones Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2010 at 2:35pm
Hey Paul,

Weird! That should definitely work. The alt-dragging technique is pretty much universal across all platforms and operating systems as far as I'm aware. You are holding down the alt key for the whole time you click and drag with the mouse, and only releasing it once you've released the mouse right? You should be able to use this for clips in both session and arrangement view. Can you use the alt key for other functions on your computer, in other applications for example, to check it's definitely working okay?

Obviously, if for some reason the alt key is failing then you can just use the copy and paste facility in the Edit menu. Clicking on an empty slot and then choosing paste will duplicate the copied clip in Session view, and the song position marker can be used as a locator for pasting copied clips in Arrangement view....

Cheers,

Rob